Boards & Committees

Below is a list of the officers, committee members and representatives, both currently serving and elected for 2023:
Clerk - Susan Brosnan (2025)

Church Treasurer - Shirley Hodkinson (2025)

Assistant Treasurer - Patricia Marino (2025)
Financial Secretary – Sue Creamer (2025)

Assistant Financial Secretary – Karen Talbot (2024)
Moderator - Lynwood Crary (2025)
Historian – Robert Vescovi (2024)

Andrew Kuvent - Senior Deacon - 1 year

Kim Lang - 2 years

Robert Vescovi - 3 years

Steven Orlomoski - 4 years

Sharon Breen - 5 years

Wendy Zajac - 1 year


Diaconate Fund Treasurer - Patricia Marino


Memorial Fund Treasurer - Debi Berube (2024)



Richard Chalifoux - 1 year - Head Trustee

John Ryan - 1 year

Felix Prokop - 2 years

Zachary Rousseau - 2 years

John Cyrus - 3 years

John Marino - 3 years


Board of Religious Education:

Anne Klewin - 1 year

Hunter Bustamante - 1 year

Loida Fessenden - 2 years

Melissa Stankiewicz - 2 years

Cathy Rider - 3 years

Nancy Whitacre - 3 years


Finance Committee: Pastor, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, Financial Secretary, Assistant Financial Secretary;

(Three elected members hold a one-year term, eligible for re-election) Carolyn Shea, Bob Vescovi, Claude Flory


Members-at-Large: (One-year term) Debra LaBree and Craig Young


Auditors: Nancy Obreiter, Phyllis Knutson (2024)


Stewardship Committee: Pastor; (one-year term, eligible for re-election) Kimberly Lang, Robert Berube, Sally Exley, Bob Vescovi


Missions Committee: (one-year term, eligible for re-election) Patrick Magowan, Merrie Hedler, Bekah Little
Delegates (NACCC): (one-year term, eligible for re-election)

Jim and Sandra Wright

Northeast Fellowship Representative: (one-year term, eligible for re-election)
Jim and Sandra Wright

Bylaws Committee: Pastor, Clerk; (one-year term, eligible for re-election) Jim Wright, Nancy Musa, Jennifer Crary
Head Usher: (one-year term, eligible for re-election) Benicia Perry


Only the Committee Chair or Representative need to be a church member for the following:

Music Committee:
Marie Quinn, Organist & Choir Director;

(one-year term, eligible for re-election)
Lydia Lavoie, John Marino, Bonnie Raue, Stella Dawley,  Bekah Little

Decorating Committee: (one-year term, eligible for re-election)
Wendy Zajac, Sharon Breen


Flower Committee: (one-year term, eligible for re-election)
Doris MacLachlan, Carolyn Shea, Laura Jackson, Nancy Obreiter, Sharon Mahan; 1 Vacancy

Preston City Cemetery Association: (one-year term, eligible for re-election) Joyce Brewster

Coffee Hour Committee: (one-year term, eligible for re-election) Stella Dawley, Merrie Hedler,
Kaye Schlough, Norma Schlough, Joy Chalifoux, Richard Chalifoux, John Ryan, Mary Ryan, Dwight Hopkins, Betsy Hopkins, Carol Riley, Sharon Mahan


Hospitality Representative: (one-year term, eligible for re-election) Merrie Hedler

Event Coordinating Committee: (elected for three years, eligible for re-election 2024) Sandy Dudek, Keith Harrison, Linda Kent-Farinha, Chuck Norris


The following committees are appointed by the Standing Committee:


Nominating Committee:

Sharon Breen - 1 years (2023)

Wendy Zajac - 2 years (2024

Rebecca Hale - 3 years (2025)



Pastoral Relations Committee:


Pastoral Search Committee 2023:

Wendy Abrahamson, Sandy Dudek, LeeAnn Fessenden, Steve Orlomoski,     Bridget Park, Felix Prokop, Liz Stammel, Marisa Stankiewicz, Bob Vescovi  Appointed 3/15/23    


Pastoral Search Committee 2021: Sharon Breen, Chair; Shari Purcell, Sandy Dudek, Pat Marino, Marissa Stankiewicz, Liz Delcore Stammel, Keith Harrison, Chris Burden, Bob Onderdonk, Andy Kuvent, Tim Bowles, LeeAnn Fessenden Disbanded 5/19/21

Employee Relations Committee: (9) Pastor, Clerk, Treasurer, one (1) Deacon, one (1) member of the Finance Committee, one (1) Trustee, one (1) member from the Music Committee and one (1) member from the Board of Religious Education.  One (1) additional member shall be appointed from the Standing Committee or the congregation-at-large. All appointments shall be made by the Standing Committee at the September Semi-Annual meeting or when a vacancy occurs and shall be for a one (1) year term with eligibility for re-appointment.


Standing Committee Members: (17) Pastor, Clerk, Church Treasurer, Financial Secretary, Moderator, Historian, Administrative Assistant, Senior Deacon (or designee), Head Trustee (or designee), Director of Religious Education, Board of Religious Education Chairperson (or designated alternate), 2 Members-at-Large, Missions Committee Chairperson (or designated alternate), Music Committee Chairperson (or designated alternate), Flower Committee Chairperson (or designated alternate), Finance Committee Chairperson (or designated alternate).
An (*) indicates that the person is filling an unexpired term and will be eligible for re-election.

Did you hear Rev. Mark's challenge on March 26, 2023 for funds to purchase a new wireless microphone? (The Live Streaming button above will bring you to the link for our service.)

The Donate Now button below will bring you to our online donation page where you may choose Special Events - New Microphone. Click on the Donate Now button, enter your donation, and complete the registration form.

TUNE IN to Television Channel 3 (WFSB) or you may check our Facebook page or this
website, or call the office

(860 887-4647). A message
will be announced on the answering machine.

When Sunday School is
cancelled, church is NOT CANCELLED unless specifically
announced. We have been assured that when we post on Channel 3, they notify all the local radio stations.

Members & Friends:



Monday Morning Bible Study

The Monday Morning Bible Study will be getting together at 10am. Please contact Chris Burden for any questions.


TUESDAY EVENING group will continues through March 28.

The class will also be available on Zoom by contacting Pastor Scott VanAlst at 860-237-7964 or


The Clothing Shed is open.

Please place donations in bags and tie them.

We accept all soft goods: clothing, shoes, blankets, curtains, towels, etc.

Thank you

We are so excited to be planning for a 2023 Scarecrow Festival. The date is set for Saturday September 23, 2023. 10 AM till 4 PM. This will be our 15th festival. The festival is going to probably look a little different but it is still going to be all about fun for the whole family and community.

We are looking for a coordinator for the Scarecrows. We need many volunteers and coordinators to make it successful. A list of areas that need coordinators is posted on the bulletin board outside Dudek Hall.  PLEASE add your name, phone, and e-mail to the list if you would like to help. Meetings will begin in January via Zoom on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:30 PM.

Questions call Shari Purcell 860-917-9011 or e-mail or call the church office at 860-887-4647.

The Food Pantry is open Wednesday, April 19,

10A -Noon.


Are you receiving our email newsletter?

Please send an email to the church office at to let us know that you would like to be added to the email mailing list. Thank You and Welcome!

The newsletter comes out on the first and third weekends of the month.

Click the Donate Now button above to connect with our

on-line giving.

Contact Us

Preston City Congregational Church


321 Route 164

Preston, CT 06365


Office: (860) 886-7200 

Phone: (860) 887-4647

Fax: (860) 887-4647




Office hours are 9A -12P, M-F


"Where Friends



Sunday Worship:

9 A, 10:30 A


We are handicap accessible.

Click on the icon above for live webstreaming of our worship service and a viewable archive of past services!

Website contact:

Northeast Fellowship


National Association website: